Luka Modric has beaten off competition from the likes of Cristiano Ronaldo, Antoine Griezmann and Lionel Messi to be named the winner of 2018’s Ballon d’Or.

The Real Madrid midfielder played a pivotal role for his club as they stormed to a third consecutive Champions League title, as well as captaining Croatia to second place at the 2018 World Cup in Russia.

Indeed, Modric has become the first player to break Messi and Ronaldo’s duopoly of the award since 2007, with Brazil icon Kaka being the last to lift the trophy before the Argentine and Portuguese stars collected five each across the following years.

Here’s the top five

🇭🇷Luka Modric
🇵🇹Cristiano Ronaldo
🇫🇷Antoine Griezmann
🇫🇷Kylian Mbappe
🇦🇷Lionel Messi


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here